This article discusses some of the common activities when managing jobs:

To learn more about the lifecycle of a job, read Introduction to Jobs. To learn more about managing jobs in field, read our articles on Loc8 Mobile.

After creating a job, one of your objectives could be to ensure the job is steadily progressing towards completion. Progress is usually recorded by your technicians via logging on-site time, travel time and task completion, as well as recording any expenses or inventory that has been used. Once work is completed, the job status is updated to Completed, which means the job is then ready for billing. 

As best practice, your company may encourage technicians to manage their own jobs through Loc8 Mobile app while working on site, but once they have checked out from the site, you might have to look into the job to add any missing data, update existing details and change the job status. 

You can do so with just a click. View the job summary at a glance, move the job to the next status, update the job details and share the job with other staff or external contacts through email.

PREREQUISITES
A few items you'll need at hand to help with managing the job:

  1. An understanding of the actual status of the job so you can ensure the status is set correctly and that technicians have logged their progress correctly.
  2. Any changes that should be recorded against the job, such as technician availability, appointment changes or customer details.

View all jobs

Go to the Jobs page and choose your preferred view of jobs, either in a list or on a map.

View all jobs in a List

This is the default view when you visit the Jobs tab. All jobs created for your customers will be displayed as shown below : 

If you prefer to browse through jobs based on specific attributes other than the ones displayed on the default column headers, you can add or remove those attributes accordingly.

View all jobs on a Map

You can switch to Map view for a visual overview of job distribution across a region.

The Map view also makes it easy for you to inspect all jobs associated with a particular site at one go. 

On clicking the job cluster, you will find a list of individual work orders for that site. You can change the job status, schedule appointments and update assigned technicians for any of the individual jobs directly from here.

Whether you're in the List view or Map view, you'll be able to filter views, open and review jobs in inspector, change job status, and add or update data received from site as discussed further on in this article.

Filter jobs

Apply the Status, Type, Customer, Appointment, or Technician filters to narrow down the jobs you are viewing. You can filter jobs in both List view and Map view. 

The filters display only the selected criteria as shown below. If you want to go back to viewing all the jobs again, just clear the filter.

Perform quick actions on a job

You can quickly review the customer and contacts, change the job status, upload attachments, update the travel and on-site details, adjust expenses and inventory usage directly from the inspector, all of which is discussed in the sections below.

Firstly, to perform quick actions on a job, select a job either in List or Map view:

View key details of the customer and contacts in the job

With a click on the values filled in Customer, Location, Contact, Requestor, and Owner, you can get more details about them at a glance. 

View and change the job status

As detailed in the article Introduction to Jobs, each job has a status that represents its stage in the job lifecycle. You can view and change the status here accordingly if required.

Schedule, reschedule or cancel appointment

Schedule an appointment by selecting a suitable date from the calendar.

Or, reschedule an already set appointment.

To cancel the appointment, just click the current appointment date and select Cancel Appointment.

Adjust the Job Start and End calendar window

Whenever the appointment dates are changed, ensure that the Start by and Due by dates still represent the calendar window within which the scheduled appointment dates lie. If not, you can adjust them accordingly as shown below:

Assign or reassign technicians

Assign one or more technicians to the job.

If you want to change the technician, simply deselect the assigned technician and make a new selection.

Upload attachments

Easily upload photos and files to a job.

Share job summary or field service reports

Viewing job summary

You can access a snapshot of a job to glance through the customer contacts, site details, site tasks and all the appointments set up for the customer till date. 

The job summary opens up in a new browser window with a link. You can share this link with any person through email, besides of course, printing or saving as a PDF.

Viewing field service reports for completed works

When a job is completed, a field service report highlighting time log, travel log, task results, is available for viewing on the inspector. 

The field service report opens up in a new browser window with a link. You can share that link with any person through email, besides of course, printing or saving as a PDF.

Sharing job summary or field service reports through email

Once you have copied the direct link of job summary or field service report, you can paste it in the email body and send it to your customers or any other recipient.

View and update on-site and travel time

If a technician has worked on a job using Loc8 Mobile, on-site and travel time should be automatically associated with the job, which can be accessed from Loc8 via web browser. You can find the on-site and travel logs under Work logs in the full inspector.

Expand Work logs to review or update details about a job that's been completed or is in progress. 

Review and update expenses

If there are any expenses associated with a job, they should be recorded against it. This can be done by the technicians in field through Loc8 Mobile, or directly from the Expenses tab under Work Logs in full inspector.

Review and update inventory usage

If any parts and materials have been used while completing the job, they should be recorded against the job. This can be done by the technicians in field on Loc8 Mobile, or directly from the Inventory tab under Work logs in the inspector.

Exporting Jobs

With just a click, you can pull out all the jobs created till date and transfer them into a document format in PDF, CSV or Excel.

Delete a job

You can easily delete a job if it's no longer required, or perhaps if the works have been completed as a part of another job. 

IMPORTANT: Please be aware that if you delete a job, any field log or history recorded on the job will be lost.


 

Did this answer your question?