What an automation rule does
Automation rule performs a specific action, such as keeping your contacts and users up-to-date through emails, SMS, or in-app messaging, on occurrence of an event that is directly or indirectly related to those users, all without your intervention.
How does it work
For an automation rule to work, you will have to design the rule and enable it.
As you would notice in the default rules available to you for jobs and quotes under Settings -> Automation, each rule has three parts to it:
- First: What event will activate the rule
- Second: What conditions in that event must be true to set off the rule
- Third: When the rule is set off, what action should be performed
Default Automation Rules
Loc8 provides you with built-in default rules for jobs and quotes that would notify the required people at different stages of jobs and quotes lifecycle.
You can choose to enable or disable these rules as it works best for your company and select the roles receiving those notifications.
Default Rules For Jobs
- when a job has been completed
- when the technician is en route
- when an appointment has been set up
The contact recorded against Customer will receive the notifications.
TIP: If a company customer does not prefer receiving notifications on their global email address mentioned against Customer, you can add their preferred email address against Owner/Supervisor and set the rule for job owner instead.
Notifying job owner
- when a job has been completed by some technician
- when a job has been created by some other user
- if the job is put on hold
The contact recorded against Owner/Supervisor will receive the notifications.
- when they are assigned to an appointment
- when they are unassigned from an appointment
- when the start or end of an appointment has changed
- when an appointment has been cancelled
The contact recorded against the assigned Technician will receive the notifications.
Default Rules for Quotes
Notifying quote owner
- when a quote has been created by some user
- when a quote, created by some other user, has been approved (or accepted)
- when a quote, create by some other user, has been rejected
The contact recorded against Owner/Supervisor will receive notifications.
The notification for acknowledging customer comes into effect when the customer has approved the quote.