NOTE: Only the Subscriber and those under the User License with Admin User Group can enable or disable the notifications.
 

You can notify the people associated with a job about the changes or events they should be aware of in that job. The events could be job creation, job cancellation, or job completion, new job appointments, appointment reschedules and appointment cancellations, or when a technician is en route to the location. 

The important people who can receive notifications are: 

  • your team members who are assigned to the job to perform the tasks and log works. This includes people under the Technician license or User license (with Assignable flag enabled).
  • the person who's looking after the ongoing activities of a job, called the Job Owner, though they themselves may not be performing work in-field
  • the customer, for whom/which the job was created

Once the notification is turned ON and an update has occured, then the recipients  can view the notifications via emails or if they are on Loc8 browser or the mobile app, they can see them in the Notifications tab on the left panel of their screen,

Some insight on what the Notifications are

The notification buttons are little more than what they appear, to be precise they seem to be simple toggle buttons which allow you to manually turn ON or OFF the alerts sent out to the concerned people, but they are an added facility on top of an already active set of automation rules running in the background.
The automation rules are accessed through Settings -> Automation rules in the Pro + and Unlimited editions.
The automation rules can be tailored to your liking using an extremely definitive, structured, and configurable layout to create a set of criteria, and when the set of criteria is true, the default/custom message template is sent out as notifications. Of all the notifications, you can control a set of notifications manually and that is what you see in the Notifications tab.
Also, automation rules does not limit you to just jobs but all other Loc8 entities such as assets, quotes, invoices, tasks, problems etc. 

For more information, learn more about automation rules in Introduction to Automation Rules.

STEP 1 Go to the Settings page.

STEP 2 Open the Notifications settings.

STEP 3 Enable notifications for your Workforce.

The notifications are for people of your organisation who are involved in the job, mainly Technicians (anyone under the Technician user license) and Owners (the person who is displayed in the Owner field in the job inspector. The owner is someone who's responsible for the job but may not be directly involved in completing the work. You will add such a contact as owner to keep them updated about the job's progress).  

Once you've set them, the notifications will be available in-app and also be sent out to their email address.
Please make sure their email addresses are valid and active and that they check their Junk/Spam folders in case they do not find the notifications in their Inbox.

Special case for Job Owner (Customer Contact Person as a Job Owner)

Ideally, the Job Owner is a member of your workforce. To keep up with the definition, you will not find an Individual customer or any names of the employees of a Company Customer in the Job Owner dropdown list. However, you will find the Company Customers.  
In situations when a person from the customer's side would like to look after a job, you can tweak the definition such that the existing email address of the Company Customer is replaced with that of the customer contact person's, and then select the Company Customer from the dropdown list as the Job Owner. This enables you to let the company contact person receive notifications about jobs without actually getting involved in-field.

See the example below where a customer contact person's email address has been used to send Job Owner notifications:

STEP 4 Next, enable notification settings for customers. Emails will be sent to the email address specified in the Company Customer profile, please ensure it is the one you intend to send to.

The notifications are now set up. Next time when the job events fire out, the notifications will be sent out accordingly.

Did this answer your question?