NOTE: Only the Subscriber and those under the User License with Admin User Group can enable or disable the notifications.
You can notify the people associated with a job about the changes or events they should be aware of in that job. The events could be job creation, job cancellation, or job completion, new job appointments, appointment reschedules and appointment cancellations, or when a technician is en route to the location.
The important people who can receive notifications are:
- your team members who are assigned to the job to perform the tasks and log works. This includes people under the Technician license or User license (with Assignable flag enabled).
- the person who's looking after the ongoing activities of a job, called the Job Owner, though they themselves may not be performing work in-field
- the customer, for whom/which the job was created
Once the notification is turned ON and an update on the described events has occured, the recipients will receive notifications via emails or if they are on Loc8 browser or the mobile app, will see them in-app i.e. in the Notifications tab on the left panel of their screen.
Some insight on what these Notifications are
The Notification buttons are little more than what they appear. They provide you the facility to manually Turn ON or Turn OFF the ability to send out notifications to the concerned people using the toggle buttons, and they are doing so by actually turning ON or turning OFF the already active set of automation rules running in the Loc8 system's background.
All the pre-built automation rules are accessed from Settings -> Automation in the Unlimited edition, where you can also create your own automation rules using the definitive, structured, and configurable layout that allows you to create rules for a wide range of scenarios. On the whole, automation rules can change/update processes automatically as a result of certain event- trigger, and send out notifications to contacts from across your network.
The configurations in the Settings -> Notifications area is an easy way to control the commonly used automation rules and facility is available to all Subscribers and Admins across all the editions.
For more specialised set of notifications, see how to work with automation rules in Configure Rules to Enable Process Automation and Notifications.
STEP 1 Go to the Settings page.
STEP 2 Open the Notifications settings.
STEP 3 Enable notifications for your Workforce.
The notifications are for people of your organisation who are involved in the job, mainly Technicians (anyone under the Technician user license) and Owners (the person who is displayed in the Owner field in the job inspector. The owner is someone who's responsible for the job but may not be directly involved in completing the work. You will add such a contact as owner to keep them updated about the job's progress).
Once you've set them, the notifications will be available in-app and also be sent out to their email address.
Please make sure their email addresses are valid and active and that they check their Junk/Spam folders in case they do not find the notifications in their Inbox.
STEP 4 Next, enable notification settings for customers. Emails will be sent to the email address specified in the Company Customer profile, please ensure it is the one you intend to send to.
The notifications are now set up. Next time when the job events fire out, the notifications will be sent out accordingly.
Notifying a Particular Employee/Contact of a Company Customer
Enable notifications for a Customer Contact, where the person is responsible for the job progress on the customer's side, but this is possible only through automation rules, where you can edit the built-in automation rules or create your own rules for specific events.
Please see the relevant section under Configure Rules to Enable Process Automations and Notifications.