NOTE: Only the Subscriber and those under the User License with Admin User Group can enable or disable the notifications.
You can notify the people associated with a job about the changes or events they should be aware of in that job. The events could be job creation, job cancellation, or job completion, new job appointments, appointment reschedules and appointment cancellations, or when a technician is en route to the location.
The important people who can receive notifications are:
- your team members who are assigned to the job to perform the tasks and log wor,ks this includes people under the Technician license or User license (with Assignable flag enabled).
- the person looking after the ongoings of the job as the Job Owner, though they will not actually perform the job in-field
- the customer, for whom/which the job was created
Once the notification is turned ON and an update has occured, then the recipients can view the notifications via emails or if they are on Loc8 browser or the mobile app, they can see them in the Notifications tab on the left panel of their screen,
A little insight about what the Notifications are
The notification buttons are little more than what they appear, to be precise they seem to be simple toggle buttons that you can use to manually turn ON or OFF the alerts you would like to send out to the concerned people, they are in fact an added facility on top of an already active set of automation rules running in the background. The automation rules are accessed through Settings -> Automation rules in the Pro + and Unlimited editions. The automation rules can be tailored to your liking using an extremely definitive, structured, and configurable layout to create a set of criteria, and when the set of criteria is true, the default/custom message template is sent out as notifications. Also, automation rules does not limit you to just jobs but all other entities in Loc8 such as assets, quotes, invoices, tasks, problems etc.
For more information, learn more about automation rules in Introduction to Automation Rules.
STEP 1 Go to the Settings page.
STEP 2 Open the Notifications settings.
STEP 3 Enable notifications for your workforce involved in the job, mainly Technicians (anyone under the Technician user license) and Owners (the person specified in the Owner field in a job profile. The owner is someone who's responsible for the job but may not be directly involved in completing the work. You will add such a contact as owner to keep them updated about the job progress).
Once you've set them, the notifications will be available in-app and will also be sent out to their email address.
Please make sure their email addresses are valid and active.
Special case for Job Owner
The Job Owner is ideally a member of your workforce, and so you will not find any Individual customer or employees of the Company Customer in the Job Owner dropdown list, but you will find Company Customers listed there.
There could be situations when a person from the customer's side i.e. the customer contact would like to look after the job, in that case you will have to replace the existing email address of the Company Customer with that of the customer contact, and then select the Company Customer as the Job Owner.
See the example below where a customer contact's email address has been used to send Job Owner notifications:
STEP 4 Next, enable notification settings for customers. Emails will be sent to the email address specified in the Company Customer profile, please ensure it is the one you intend to send to.
The notifications are now set up. Next time when the job events fire out, the notifications will be sent out accordingly.